Real Talk

Bipolar Disorder

What is bipolar disorder? You may ask…

For me, bipolar disorder is a sickness that must not be treated lightly. When I was 25, my doctor told me I was bipolar. A feeling swept away. It was an affirmation. An affirmation of why I was who I was and why I acted the way I acted in the past, though I never really wondered about why I was acting the way I was acting in the past. I thought I was normal.

Bipolar-Disorder-in-DSM

Photo source: https://www.borderlinepersonalitytreatment.com/bipolar-disorder-changes-dsm-5.html

What is bipolar disorder? You may ask…

For me, it is not just a sickness. It’s an attitude. I oftentimes feel high and low and seldom in between. Experts call it manic depressive. There are times when you get extremely happy and oftentimes you get extremely sad. The extremes. Nothing in between. Definitely not how a normal person would act.

Experts say lithium is the best cure for bipolar disorder. I haven’t tried lithium yet though I take some mood stabilizers and anti-depressant tablets. I don’t really know if it works. I mean, sometimes, I get angry for some reason. I mean, don’t we all get angry? It’s totally normal. I think I don’t have to take these tablets anymore. I think I just need to work things out. My second doctor told me there wasn’t any problem with me. I kind of agree with her, yet at some point I doubt. I really don’t know.  But I’d like to believe I am perfectly fine or rather, an overcomer. Yes, I’ve been through some tough times that it was too hard to bear but don’t we all go through it? It’s darkest before the dawn, always remember that, and we need to work for the things that we want. I’m not an achiever, really, but there’s something that I really want so I really need to work for it.

Bipolar-Disorder1

Photo source: http://www.studypk.com/articles/nursing-guide-bipolar-disorder/

They say one characteristic of a person who has a bipolar disorder is not being able to multi-task. Well, yes, I am that. I can’t multi-task. I need to focus on one thing before I proceed to another. It has a purpose though. I believe everything on earth has a purpose. In time, we will know what the purpose is. In God’s perfect time. “All things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” (The Bible. The Book of “Romans” Chapter 8, verse 28) Everything has a purpose. We might not know it yet but someday it will be revealed to us.

 

1 thought on “Bipolar Disorder”

  1. I’m sorry to hear that. I still believe of what your capable of. You’re very talented,beautiful and loved by God. Just be courageous as you face life, God will always be with you as you walk on your journey. I like your blog, just keep up the good work. God bless you,Elaine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.